Opinions


Israel-Gaza War, Settlers, Opinion
Anti-Settler Sanctions Send the Wrong Message to Everyone

A small number of violent settlers do not justify a special sanctions regime which could be expanded to pressure Israel into agreeing to a presently existentially threatening Palestinian state.

Avraham Russell Shalev | 06.02.24

The Newbie Editor

The Newbie Editor: Most News is "Boring" - And That's Just Fine

Defenders of the news business do themselves no favors when they defend its value solely based on 5-10% of what we do on a good day.

Avi Woolf | 05.02.24

Shapiro VS Destiny Debate, Lex Fridman Podcast

Watch Ben Shapiro and Destiny Engage in Riveting Debate on Lex Fridman Podcast

Ben Shapiro and Destiny's Riveting Debate: Insights on Iran, Election Fallout, and Divisive Leadership on Lex Fridman Podcast | Watch:

Abraham Gutman | 24.01.24

The Newbie Editor

The Newbie Editor: Too. Much. News!

One of the first things you learn on the editing job, pretty much on the first day, is that there’s never enough time and room for everything. Or even close.

Avi Woolf | 15.01.24

Kindergarten

When Should You Put Your Baby in Kindergarten and How Do You Choose One?

Registration for educational settings for ages birth to three is just around the corner and many parents are asking themselves when is the right time to enroll their baby. So how do you choose the right framework for a child? All the details below.

Noa Leor, PhD | 10.01.24

Supreme Court, Democracy, Opinion

Welcome to Government By Judiciary

By placing itself above the Basic Laws of the Knesset, the Israeli Supreme Court has become an all-powerful authority, in sole possession of the “source code” determining how the country runs.

Sagi Barmak | 02.01.24

"I Sobered Up"

The Ultra-Orthodox Leftist Admits: "After 7/10 I Sobered Up"

The ultra-Orthodox jurist, media personality Dov Halbertal, admits in a short conversation that after October 7th he sobered up: "I was one of the leaders of the concept to give Hamas everything so that Gaza would become Singapore."

Guy Ezra, JFeed Staff | 31.12.23

Israel, Democracy, Supreme Court, Opinion

Israel is Now a Juristocracy

If the leaked opinion on the reasonableness standard holds true, the people of Israel will no longer have the power to do anything judges don't like, law or no law.

Avraham Russell Shalev | 31.12.23

Settler Violence, Opinion

Don't Be Fooled by the "Settler Violence" Scare

Contrary to a well-orchestrated campaign, what little violence is being committed by a fringe of settlers is either down or about the same. Terrorism, meanwhile, is on the rise everywhere.

Josh Hasten | 26.12.23

The Newbie Editor

The Newbie Editor: My Baptism of Fire – In Hell

October 8. My first day on the job. Expected things to be slow and boring. What I got instead was worse than I could have ever imagined.

Avi Woolf | 25.12.23

National Unity, President Herzog

True Unity Must Come From Shared Love, Not Shared Fear

President Herzog gave a speech calling for national unity, stressing how divisions endanger Israelis in the face of a shared enemy. But such unity cannot last - another approach is needed.

Elisheva Elroy | 25.12.23

"A Healthier Understanding"

Menahem Kalmanson: This is what a Healthy Society Looks Like

Menahem Ami Kalmanson, who went out to fight with his late brother Elhanan and nephew Itiel on Simchat Torah in Be'eri, gives a different perspective on the soldiers' deaths in Gaza. According to him, we have gone from a sick view in which the citizen is at the front and the soldier is protected to a healthier opposite understanding.

JFeed Staff | 24.12.23

Celebrations

Sivan Rahav-Meir: How Can Events Be Celebrated These Days?

The news these days are difficult and challenging. Many people are debating how to celebrate their happy events. The Yarchi family, whose son celebrated a Bar Mitzvah, found a unique way to express the joy.

Sivan Rahav-Meir | 19.12.23

Blame is Solely on Hamas

Rabbi Shmuel Eliyahu: The Blood is Only on the Hands of Hamas and its Supporters

We must not burden the fighters with even a tiny particle of guilt. The blame is solely on the brutal kidnappers from Hamas and all their supporters.

Rabbi Shmuel Eliyahu | 17.12.23

'Brothers in Arms'

'Brothers in Arms' for Real and not as a Slogan | Rabbi Shachar Botschak

These days, the same citizens who were in the demonstrations of both sides enter the same tank, the same squad of fighters, and fight for weeks when every moment they are shoulder to shoulder, and their lives depend on each other.

Rabbi Shachar Botschak | 07.12.23

Israel and Yemen

Israel is Studying Yemen, the Concept will Yet Explode

The restraint in the face of the attacks from Yemen may harm Israel economically as well - and the announcement by the "ZIM" company should be a red flag to Mr. Economy Benjamin Netanyahu. Damage to the Houthi army may also strengthen the alliance with the Saudis, which is significant.

Liran Vainshtain | 29.11.23

Biden - The Gift That Keeps On Giving To Sinwar

Sinwar Never Dreamed that His Lifeline Would Come From Biden

Biden tries again and again to please the democratic current in the US and to strive for the establishment of a Palestinian state. If Israel even thinks of going in this direction, it is a spit in the face of the murdered, the hostages, and the soldiers who give their lives for us.

Chani Edri | 29.11.23

"Woe to Us if Not"

Rabbi Hagai Lundin: "Woe to Us if it doesn't Happen in the End"

As ordinary citizens we did not decide whether and how the ceasefire would be conducted. What is left for us these days is to pray and train the muscle of vigilance. It is better not to sit too much in front of the screens now and cuddle with the pictures of the release of the abductees.

Rabbi Hagai Lundin | 27.11.23

The Mixed Feelings

Sivan Rahav-Meir: Happiness Mixed with Frustration, Excitement Mixed with Rage

We have seen so many horror videos, and now - we can see some happy videos. Because even good dreams come true, not just fears and anxieties.

Sivan Rahav-Meir | 26.11.23

Not at Any Cost

Return the Abductees, but not at Any Cost

If the families of the abductees had known that the Shalit deal would lead twelve years later to the Seventh of October, they would certainly have opposed it completely, and rightly so. The state is responsible for returning all the abductees, down to the last one, but not at any cost.

Pasit Siach | 23.11.23